Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Weaving the Words


rt-2008-redu1My third book, Threads of Love, is now available as a digital book from Cerridwen Press.  Even though I’ve been here before, I must confess I get a thrill seeing my cover and name splashed across the front of the available now page.  The book is a medieval romance set in the 1300s with the theme of learning how to let go of the past and move on with your life, a problem many folks battle with in our century.  More than my first two books, I struggled with the plot elements.  The story meandered all over the place.  More than once I thought about abandoning the entire book, but Aislinn and Garrett had other ideas.  They nagged and prodded me through what seemed like hundreds of rewrites until I got their story right.

 

Finding the proper pattern and then intertwining it with the other threads of storytelling that make for a textured book, is often a lonely difficult journey.  Along the way I found many books that helped me with the process.  Writer’s Digest has an incredible series called Everyday Life in…that covers all the details of daily life in different eras.  Alison Carter’s Underwear; the Fashion History was helpful as was John Peacock’s Costume 1066-1990s.  Of course the Medieval Wordbook by Madeleine Pelner Cosman was essential to keeping my character’s voices authentic.  Topping my list was Deb Dixon’s Goal, Motivation and Conflict.  Without her book, I’m not sure I’d have ever figured out the real story.

 

Research, continual revisions and a patient critique group who hung in there with me as I strung and restrung the loom of my book, helped me to weave the words into the story I’d envisioned for so long in my head.  Now I’m working on a new book set in another galaxy with a different kind of weaver, a dream spinner.  Like weaving and spinning, getting the words right requires a blend of art and skill.  As my writer friends know, ‘it ain’t easy’.  Still, we’ll keep searching for the right characters and conflicts and the right words to weave into satisfying and entertaining stories.  My loom is calling.  Happy weaving.

 

threadsoflove_msr1-2To find out more about Threads of Love, please visit my website for a blurb and short excerpt.

April 30, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized, Writer's Life

3 Comments »

  1. You were up late! The book sounds amazing. I’m excited for you.

    Comment by juliabarrett | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. Great post, Kathy! Can’t wait to read the final version of Threads.

    Comment by pattie | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. Way to go Kathy!

    Comment by Bart P | May 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

