Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Going Away to Write!


rt-2008-reduI spent the past weekend at a writers’ retreat with five other authors from my local RWA chapter at a comfortable home on a lake in the Poconos.  After we all settled in, a three hour adventure for some of us (but that’s another story), we gathered around the big kitchen table and set our goals.  We’ve found that doing this gives the weekend structure and keeps us on task, something that could be difficult given the company, the location and the really good book I’d packed as my reward for working hard all day. 

Out of curiosity, I googled writers’ retreats.  1,890,000 sites were available for my perusal.  Obviously lots of other writers, artists and just plain tired folks are seeking time away from the hectic pace of their daily lives.  From the few sites I looked at, it seems that you can find a retreat to gladden your heart in just about any corner of the globe.  I found them listed from California to New York to England.  In addition to some beautiful facilities and vistas, all of them offered distance, perspective, relaxation, rejuvenation and renewal.  Sounds good to me—which is why I forked over my $30.00 and a cooler full of salad greens to escape to the Poconos. 

During the next two days, I managed to finish up notes on an article on Victorian jewelry, gather information, outline and brainstorm a possible workshop, brainstorm the sequel to Witch Ball, have a critique session on my current work in progress and interview my companions for an article for our group’s newsletter.  Having accomplished all this, there was still plenty of time for conversation, most of it about writing, drinking wine and critiquing and brainstorming other authors’ projects. 

France, Costa Rica and Tahiti all sound alluring.  But for now I’ll stick closer to home.  If you haven’t treated yourself to the experience yet, it’s well worth considering, especially if you can find a retreat site at a reasonable price.  You won’t be sorry.  The writing rewards are boundless.

 For more information about writers’ retreats, Google  “Shawguides to Writers Conferences and Workshops” for an extensive list of possibilities.

May 3, 2009 - Posted by | Writer's Life

4 Comments »

  1. As one of those five authors who were with Kathy, I agree with everything she said. Our chapter started the retreat becuase the “plot party” didn’t last long enough. Sometimes you need to get away – to the Poconos or to Tuscany – to get it together.

    Comment by Mitzi | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Another great post, Kathy. I’m glad you had a great time. Maybe next year.

    Comment by Autumn Jordon | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. I wish I could have been there! It stinks that my finals are always around this time. 🙂

    <3Nisha

    http://www.nisha-sharma.com/blog

    Comment by Nisha | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Sounds like the perfect getaway! Looking forward to a sequel to Witch Ball!

    Comment by Amber Skyze | May 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

