Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Thank a Teacher Today


rt-2008-redu1If you are a reader than it’s probably a safe bet that somewhere along the way you had at least one teacher who helped to cultivate your love of reading and booksI know I had severalMy sixth grade teacher still holds a special place in my heart.  Every day after lunch she read to us.  She read the good stuff—The Hardy Boys, Uncle Wiggley and The Wind in the Willows.  She also encouraged us to write.  Already a budding author, I wrote a killer script for Sleeping Beauty, in which I played the Queen, my beau of the moment, the King, and one of my friends in a 1950s prom gown, danced the part of Princess Aurora.  Heady stuff for a Friday afternoon. 

This week is National Parent Teacher Association Teacher Appreciation Week.  If you have a chance, thank a teacher who made a difference in your life or who is making a difference now in the lives of your children or grandchildren.  Send a card, some flowers or a gift card to a local book store.  And don’t forget the librarian, art and music teacher.  After all it takes a village to educate a child.  Then take some time for yourself and curl up with a good book.  When you do, take a moment to silently thank that extraordinary teacher who made it all possible.

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I was thinking about sending a gift to one of my high school teachers yesterday. mhm. I guess this a sign that I should get on that to thank him for helping me out!

    Great blog post! 🙂

    <3Nisha

    Comment by Nisha | May 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

