Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Here Comes the Bride!


rt 2008 redu (2)My son is engaged and my niece is getting married in September, so marriage and weddings are on my mind.  My son and his fiancée have yet to settle on a date or place, but for the first time in years I’m reading Bride’s Magazine, checking out wedding gowns, destination weddings and intimate B& B’s , not to mention the dreaded mother-of-the groom fashions.(more on that later.)

 My niece’s shower is less than a week away and since I’m one of the people in charge, I’ve been packing up antique tea cups, cut glass bowls and silver serving dishes and baking scones (3 varieties) to prepare for the big day.  By now you’ve no doubt figured out we’re planning a tea of some sort for her.  Along with my scones, there will be chilled peach soup (served in aforementioned tea cups), tea sandwiches, tiny pastries and a cake. And tea, of course, iced in this case because of the weather.

 Since I’m heavily involved in all this wedding tea stuff, I thought I’d share my favorite scone recipe with you.  They are easy to make and hold up well in the freezer.  Next time you want to impress your friends, you can thaw them, place them on a pretty plate and serve with some jam.  Oh, and a nice pot of hot tea.  Earl Grey anyone?

 Apricot Buttermilk Scones

Ingredients: 

2 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

11/2 tsp baking powder

1/2tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

6 TBS unsalted butter-chilled

½ cup buttermilk

1 large egg

11/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup chopped apricots (other dried fruits may be substituted) 

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

  1. combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt
  2. Cut butter into chunks and scatter over flour mixture
  3. Cut butter into flour until get coarse crumgs
  4. In small bowl-mix buttermilk, egg & vanilla
  5. Add liquid to crumbs and combine
  6. Add chopped fruit and combine
  7. Spray baking pan and drop dough on with TBS
  8. Bake 15-18 minutes until golden at 350 degrees
  9. Cool 5 minutes-slice, add jam or lemon curd and enjoy
August 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Great post, Kathy–I’m involved in baby shower plans so this blog is very timely! Your scones are delish, so maybe I’ll bake some…So far we’re planning to have appetizers and desserts–cake! Alyssa’s mom and I are getting together soon to decide on details and write out invitations.

    Comment by pattie | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sounds delicious. And congrats on the engagement. I’m sure that will be fun!

    Comment by Amber Skyze | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. I hit reply too soon–have a fabulous time at the shower! BTW, I bought my mom of the groom dress at Talbot’s. Floor-length navy–short sleeves, lace overlay bodice, no jacket!

    Comment by pattie | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. Busy times ahead for you. Dang..peach soup sounds YUMMY!

    Comment by regina carlysle | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh they sound yummy. Let me know next time you’re making some. I’ll be over!

    Comment by barbara huffert | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. Sounds yummy. I’m sure the shower will be wonderful.

    Comment by Kathy Kulig | August 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

