Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Sunrise-Sunset


rt 2008 redu (2)Where did summer go?  Labor Day is here and I swear I just set up our deck for our big Memorial Day cookout.  I don’t seem to be the only one dismayed by summer’s sudden evaporation.  From the news caster on our local channel to the hosts on the Today show to almost everyone I’ve spoken to recently, they’re all asking the same question.  And then there’s my niece who’s getting married in a week.  I look at her and wonder where did all those years go?  When did the child become a woman?  As the song from Fiddler on the Roof goes: “Sun rise, sunset, swiftly flow the years.”  Time moves on, and like it or not, we get carried along for the ride.

As an author I need to show the passage of time during the course of my story.  There are several easy ways to convey these time shifts to the reader.  One way is to use words or phrases that denote movement in time such as, later that morning, the next day, as the weeks passed.  Another is to show the change of seasons as the story progresses or to follow the sun or the moon to indicate the course of a day or a month.  A cool website, http://www.timeanddate.com, allows authors to easily figure out sunrise or moonrise.After visiting the Star Trek exhibit at the Franklin Institute, I was pleased to discover that time travel is not actually prohibited by Einstein’s Theory of Relativity.  Maybe one day some savvy scientist will find a way to allow us to get back some of those swiftly flowing years.  Here’s hoping.

September 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Time….I’m trying not to wish away time until my grandson is born–I know I’ll want to slow down time once he’s here! For now I busy myself with crocheting and buying for him! And planning the baby shower with my D-I-L’s mom…

    Comment by pattie | September 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

