Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Blog Block


rt 2008 redu (2)Ever hear of writer’s block—that painful syndrome when an author for some reason simply can’t find the words?  Most writers have probably had at least a passing acquaintance with the problem.  Well, now there is also Blog Block—the equally painful syndrome of having to write something scintillating on a daily or weekly basis.  With thousands of other bloggers to compete against for the public’s attention, it’s difficult to find something new and fresh to say. 

One solution I’ve read for breaking writer’s block (I’m assuming it also works for blog block) is to simply sit down and write.  Write anything—a list of to do’s, odd character names, e-mails, a letter to a friend.  You get the idea.  Supposedly the mere process of writing jiggles something in the creative side of the brain and helps you break through.  Since I’m struggling with blog block at this very moment, I’m going to put myself out there as a guinea pig and give it a try.

For months I’ve been hearing about Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series.  Some people seem to love the series.  Others that I know hate it.  So, I decided to make up my own mind.  After reading all four books, I can’t say I’m an avid fan, but the books engaged me and were very readable.  While I found the final conflict resolution in Breaking Dawn to be problematic, I definitely understand the allure of the series to the adolescent market. 

I followed up my reading by renting the movie which I thought remained fairly faithful in tone, character and important plot points to the book.  A bigger success than completing the entire series in less than two weeks was the fact that I conquered the DVD player, a fact that sent my husband into rapture since he’d been nagging me for years to learn how to operate the gadget. 

As for writing news, I’ve finished the first draft of my fourth book, an erotic futuristic romance, Palace of Dreams.  I’m well into revision hell at this point, but moving ahead.  Since this is my first foray into writing women’s erotica, I want to do it right, so I’m taking my time.  Another first is coming up soon.  I’ll be on the Researching and Writing panel at the Romanticon Conference in October.  I’ll be meeting my editor, for the first time as well, which just makes the entire event that much more fulfilling. 

Just a reminder, my newsletter, Helpless Romantic, can be found at groups.yahoo.com/group/Hopelessromanticnewsletter/  I’d love for you to take a look. 

Okay, all finished now.  The guinea pig survived the experiment.  Guess the trick really is to just keep writing.

September 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Excellent blog, Kathy!

    Comment by pattie | September 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. I get writers block every once in a while but I go people watch to try to get rid of it. For some reason, that actually helps. 🙂

    Congrats on finishing your fourth book! Hope to see you soon!

    <3Nisha

    Comment by tess | October 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

