Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Countdown to RomantiCon


rt 2008 redu (2)October 9th to 11th I’ll be attending RomantiCon in Ohio.  The event is the first conference sponsored by my publisher, Ellora’s Cave, Inc.  http://www.jasminejade.com/romanticon/)  I’ve been registered for nearly a year.  This week the countdown begins.  My promotional materials—excerpt brochures, book marks and pens are neatly packed and ready to go.  I’ve started pulling together the proper clothing for the three day extravaganza, including something special for the Psychic Soiree welcoming party.  Can you say granny dress?  Amazingly I have an original from the 70s that still fits.  Then of course there have to be cute, but professional outfits for Author Mania (2 half hour chat sessions with readers who are attending the conference) workshops and of course, the book fair and signing on Sunday.  I also have to prepare for my first workshop as a presenter.  I’m on the Researching and Writing Historical Fiction panel.  I’ll be the presenter wearing the medieval gown.  Since my medieval, Threads of Love, debuts in print, I’ve decided to go all out and dress the part for the signing which is directly after my session.  I think it’s called marketing.  It remains to be seen if it works.  I’m sure I’ll attract attention.  The big question is whether or not that attention will translate into book sales.  I’ll let you know. 

There are a lot of firsts associated with this conference—first time conference for my publisher, first time I’ve done a workshop at a conference, and my personal favorite, first time I get to meet my editor.  Helen hales from Australia. Up to now our contact has strictly been electronic.  She’s holding a special party for all her authors, another first, where we’ll be treated to two Australian culinary staples, Vegemite sandwiches and Tim Tams (a dessert cake that she refers to as ‘food of the gods’) 

I’ll be traveling with two other Ellora’s Cave authors, Kathy Kulig (www.kathykulig.com) and Cris Anson (www.crisanson.com) so packing is definitely a challenge.  I expect to have my suitcase on my lap for most of the trip.  Hmmm!  Three authors crammed into a car for six to seven hours.  Whatever will we find to talk about?

October 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. HA. I imagine the conversation will be non-stop. Sounds like a pretty wild ride to me! LOL. Can’t wait to meet you at Romanticon

    Comment by Regina Carlysle | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. This does sound like a lot of fun–you’ll be busy the entire three days. Can’t wait to hear all about it. Pack well and have a great time!

    Comment by pattie | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Don’t worry we’ll have plenty to talk about and there’ll be plenty of room for everything. lol

    Comment by Kathy Kulig | October 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

