Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Thank a Veteran Today


NJ Convention 2009 Head ShotMy husband’s father and uncles and several of my uncles all served during WWII.  My stepfather fought in the Korean War. We both have friends who were in the Vietnam War.  My best friend’s husband is retired Navy.  He served in the Gulf during the 80s. My niece’s husband is currently an officer in the Air Force. One hundred and forty-eight years ago, both my husband’s great-great grandfathers and my great-great uncle fought for the Union during the Civil War.  One of Neil’s great-greats lost a leg at Chancellorsville. 

This coming weekend we will be in Staunton, VA marching in their Veteran’s Day parade.  My husband will proudly don his blue lieutenant’s frock coat, buckle on his sword belt and join the color guard consisting of Confederate and Union reenactors.  I’ll be with the ladies, attired in my finest 1860’s gown. With luck I’ll have some awesome photos.  As a group, we are always a crowd pleaser. 

The applause is appreciated, but that’s not why we do this.  We do it to honor veterans, all our veterans—past and present.  I know I’m grateful for the sacrifices of the brave men and women who willingly put their lives on the line so that I can live the comfortable life I lead in the freest nation in the world.  So I join with millions of other Americans today in saying, “Thank you for the service you have done our country.  Thank you for the standing on the wall and guarding me.” 

If you know a veteran, or bump into one today, please pass the message along.

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. very nice post, Kathy. I thought about my dad a lot yesterday. Important day.

    Comment by pattie | November 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

