Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Beginnings


Beginnings are important.  They crackle with hope, anticipation and the promise of starting anew.  This is I suppose part of the allure of starting the New Year off with a list of resolutions.   A lot has already been said about goal setting in other blogs, so I’ll pass on the topic, other than to say that keeping them realistic and writing them down really does help.  Rewarding ones self occasionally when a particular goal has been achieved is important too. 

Beginnings are equally important in the opening of a book.  The goal of every writer is to capture their audience in those first few pages. Finding the right way to do that, now there’s the rub.   Typically it takes the average reader, (include agent and editor here) about 15 seconds to decide to either keep reading or to pass and move on to another book.  If you doubt this, check out the process the next time you purchase a book.  Most people, unless they have a specific book in mind, will browse an area, selecting those books whose titles or covers attract their attention, check the blurb on the back, open and peruse a page or two—about 15 seconds worth of investigation.  After that the book either goes back on the shelf and they move on or it ends up tucked under the purchaser’s arm as they browse further.  Readers know what they like and it doesn’t take them long to say yea or nay. 

There are reasons why all this beginning stuff is on my mind at the moment.  For one thing, I’m waiting to hear whether or not I managed to hook my editor with my latest book, Palace of Dreams.  For another, and more importantly to me at this moment, I’m about to begin another project, an erotic short story slated for Ellora’s Cave, called Winter’s End.  I’m also researching for my next novel, an erotic steam punk with the working title of Clockwork Heart.  And I’m working on several workshops using power point, a new technological adventure for me.  It’s clear I have a lot of beginnings to think about this year.  The task is a bit daunting, but I’m excited to dive in and begin.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.  I’m happy to be your cheerleader as well.  As the song says, “we can all use a little help from our friends.” Never truer, I think, than right at this moment, as we take the first steps to making our resolutions a reality.  Here’s to beginnings and to remaking ourselves and our world!

January 4, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. 15 seconds huh? Hmmm. I must cultivate the process of allowing at least 20 seconds in the future!

    Comment by anny cook | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Good stuff, Kathleen. Keep plugging away.

    Comment by Don Lafferty | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. More erotica? So you’ve found your true strong suit! Can’t wait to read all. I especially admire your plunge into technology – you give those of us over 60 the courage to forge ahead and keep learning.

    Comment by Linda E | January 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

