Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Saying Goodbye


I’m not good at good-byes.  When I’m with friends I always linger at the door chatting for a few more minutes, hating to say the words that signal the end of good times shared with each other.  So you can imagine how difficult it is for me to bid farewell to Pumpkin, my beloved furry companion of twenty-four and a half years.  That’s a 114 in human years, an amazing run any way you look at it. 

My husband and I have known for a few months that she was slowly going into a decline.  But no matter how carefully you try to prepare yourself for the inevitable; it’s still heart wrenching to watch them take that final breath.  For me it’s even more poignant as Pumpkin was my writing buddy and furry muse.  The consummate lap cat, she followed me everywhere.  Since sitting on my lap while I typed didn’t work (believe me she tried), Pumpkin finally resigned her self to curling up on the chair next to me.  That is when she wasn’t sitting on the desk in front of the computer or trying to help me type. 

Saying good-bye is hard and I’ll miss her company.  My office seems empty today as I write this.  But I have hope.  We have two other cats, Scamp and Sami.  Often they’d sit in the doorway and look longingly at the chair where Pumpkins sat ensconced in her special place of honor—next to mommy.  I suspect it won’t be long before one of them decides this being a muse thing is a good deal.  Pumpkin sure thought so.

Pumpkin and Scamp (new contender for the role as furry muse)

January 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I am so sorry to hear about Pumpkin. It’s been a year since my kitty died, and I still sometimes expect him to greet me when I’m opening the front door. Pumpkin was a great cat. My sympathies to you,Neil,Scamp, and Sami.

    Comment by Linda E | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. So sorry to hear about Pumpkin. Pets do become a part of the family and a home is never the same once they’ve passed on. Twenty-four and a half years is amazing. I think it’s probably a sign of how well she was taken care of and how much she was loved.

    Comment by Tina | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hugs, Sweetie. Our animal friends make us better people. I love my Jeter and at 7 years old he’s my friend, my confidante and my baby boy.

    My life is infinitely richer because of him.

    Pumpkin is smiling at you on the other side of the rainbow bridge.

    Comment by Terri P | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. I have been there. It’s hard. May your other kitties give you comfort.

    Comment by anny cook | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  5. Love Pumpkin, she was a nice cat and you and Neil gave her a great home. RIP Pumpkin.

    Comment by pattie | February 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

