Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Writes of Spring!


No more excuses. This year I’m taking part in the Writes of Spring, the annual February (okay so it’s not quite spring, but we’re a hopeful bunch) writing challenge organized by my writing group, the Pocono Lehigh Valley Romance Writers. My goal was to finish most of the first draft of a short story I’m working on for submission to Ellora’s Cave, entitled, Winter’s End. I have the characters, the plot, the big black moment and the end worked out so 25 pages was an achievable goal. So it seemed until the first edits for my novel, Palace of Dreams arrived. So now I’m juggling 2 goals—complete the edits and keep working on the short story. The Writes of Spring are supposed to be a challenge. I just didn’t think they would be quite so…well, challenging. 

I’m not alone in my struggle to reach my goals.  It seems as if half my fellow writers are running into unanticipated roadblocks.  Life just keeps getting in the way which is often the reason why so few people at the end of the year have achieved the goals they made the previous New Year’s eve.  It helps to write goals down, as does being part of a group working toward the same end.  The WOS authors post frequently, encourage each other to keep plugging away and celebrate even the tiniest victory.  Keeping goals realistic and breaking them down into manageable chunks is another good way to stay on target.  I’m trying to follow all the tips.

 Check back at the end of February to see if I succeeded.

February 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. As an old friend used to say: “Life is just one darn thing after another.” So true, but keeping those goals bite size helps. It’s like eating an elephant. You have to cut it into pieces smaller than your head.

    Go WOSers!

    Bart

    Comment by Bart Palamaro | February 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

