Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Winter Reading


With Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction for six more weeks of winter, there is still plenty of time to curl up on a cold day with a good book and a cup of tea or hot chocolate.  Cosmopolitan magazine, book editor, John Searles recently released his list of favorites. 

For those of you who read the Historian, Elizabeth Kostova is back with The Swan Thieves. Lou Berney has a new thriller, Gutshot Straight. Adriana Trigiani’s new one is Brava Valentine.  One of the best reads of the season, according to Searles, is Chris Bohjalian’s, Secrets of Eden.  Or you might try The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris or Amy Bloom’s Where the God of Love Hangs Out. (love that title. 

I have my own list of recent favorites straight from the pile of books on my night stand.  A fan of Tony Hillerman’s, Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn mysteries set in the southwest, I just finished his, The Sacred Clowns. I also gobbled up two of Allison Brennan’s thrillers that I picked up at the New Jersey Romance Conference, The Prey and The Hunt.  Both were fast-paced rollercoaster rides.  As the snow falls I’m in the middle of Penelope Williamson’s historical romance set in the high Victorian era of Rhode Island, Passions of Emma

If nonfiction is more your style, my friend, Linda, who has just joined a book club, recommends Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.  After reading this, she says you’ll certainly think more about that carrot or tomato you put in your mouth.  Another good read is Greg Mortenson’s Three Cups of Tea. 

So many wonderful books to choose from!.  Almost makes me want winter to last a little longer.

February 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I’m waiting on a few YA novels that I just ordered. And I am whittling down that TBR pile because I just don’t have years to read everything I have hanging around the house.

    Sigh. Never enough time.

    Comment by Terri P | February 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Love the pictures of your snow-covered deck, Kathy. Recently I read three books by Shelly Fredman, the “No Such Thing as a” series about Brandy Alexander, amateur sleuth who lives in Philly. New one out soon.

    Most recent read was The Help by Kathryn Stockett–excellent book. I couldn’t wait to finish it but didn’t want it to end!

    Comment by pattie | February 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

