Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

When Goals Implode


When I plunged into the Writes of Spring (the February writing challenge set up by my writer’s group, PLRW) I was certain I could meet my modest goal of 25 pages on my current work in progress.  Per my own goals setting tips, I selected a reasonable goal and worked at it in small increments.  All ran smoothly for about a week.  I was writing consistently and feeling pretty cocky about my accomplishments. 

The universe does not like cocky.  Just when I was feeling optimistic about meeting the challenge, all hell broke lose.  The edits of my new book, Palace of Dreams, arrived and had to be dealt with.  Okay small detour.  They were barely out the door to my editor when my new cover arrived. Not a problem. I just needed to start thinking about promo ideas, but I had time.  Within 3 days of my cover the release date for the book was announced.  The ebook would be out the first week of March.  Okay that promo thing was going to have to be moved up. 

Before I received word about my release date, I had offered to help a fellow author promo her new book.   So beginning this week I will have my first blog guest, Tess Quinn who will be sharing a fascinating view on arranged marriages and how they tie into Bewitched Cowboy, her first book with Wild Rose Press.  After that I’ll be off on a first for me, a blog tour to promote the release of Palace of Dreams.

  So what happened to WOS?  Have I given up on the whole thing?  Not completely.  I like to think of it more as strategic regrouping.  When giving those tips on goal setting, I should have added one more—be flexible.  When life gets in the way, there’s no need to wave the white flag.  It’s okay to reexamine the original goal and realign it to fit the new flow.  I may not make 25 pages, but I’ll keep plugging away.  Every page I manage is 1 page closer to the end of the book.  And helping my friends to launch their books or taking time to launch my own is a worthy goal even if it isn’t the one I began with.

 

February 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Sometimes they don’t just implode…sometimes they wipe the plans right off the map. Good luck with your realignment!

    Comment by anny cook | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. You’re still writing! Life happens: I’ve been using my free time to babysit the amazing Logan!

    And I am NOT complaining. 😉 He’ll be grown before we know it, so I savor every minute I’m in his company. These are golden days!

    Comment by pattie | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. It sounds like your handling all just fine, Kathy. Good luck. Six days left. Yikes.

    Comment by Autumn Jordon | February 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. “strategic regrouping”

    Ya gotta do what ya gotta do! lol! Thanks, Kathie!

    Janice C.

    Comment by Janice | February 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

