Journeys of the Heart

An author's journey

Meet Tina Gallagher


As my special guest, I have author, Tina Gallagher whose book Tupelo Honey was released by Phaze ebooks today.  Congratulations on your latest book, Tina.  I know I was fascinated learning about how the title came about and I bet my readers would love to know the story too.  So tell us how you came up with the title.

Thank you so much for having me, Kathleen!

When I wrote Tupelo Honey, the story didn’t have a name.  This is strange for me, because titles usually come to me pretty easily.  But this one was tough.  Since my hero, Tim O’Brien is a hockey player, I tried to think of something along those lines, but nothing came to mind.  I finally asked for help from the women in my writers’ group 

I believe it was my friend, Terri Prizzi, who said, “Tupelo Honey.  Oh my God, you have to name it Tupelo Honey.  It’s perfect!”  I mention in the story that Tupelo Honey by Van Morrison was Tim and Cassie’s “song”.  After Terri’s statement, I agreed.  Tupelo Honey was the perfect name. 

So now the story is named I have people asking, “What does that name mean?”and  “Is the girl from Tupelo, Mississippi?”  Telling them that it’s name of a song doesn’t usually cut it, so I’ll go on to explain that Tupelo Honey is actually a type of honey.  Since I’m from Northeast Pennsylvania, most of the honey we see on our shelves is Clover honey.  And I suppose unless you’re a honey connoisseur, you might not realize that there are different types of honey and that they’re named based on the type of tree or plant from which the bees draw nectar.  I only knew this because it saw it in a movie years ago. 

Out of curiosity and also so I’d have some information to give people who ask about my title, I did some research on Tupelo Honey.  Here’s what I found out.

 Tupelo honey is produced from the Tupelo gum tree which grows along the Chipola and Apalachicola rivers of northwest Florida. This river valley is the only place in the world where Tupelo Honey is produced commercially. 

Real Tupelo Honey is light amber in color with a greenish cast. The flavor is delicious and distinctive.  Good white Tupelo Honey, unmixed with other honeys, will not granulate.    

In order to get fine unmixed Tupelo Honey, bee colonies must be striped of all their stores just as the white Tupelo bloom begins.  The bees are then given clean boxes with combs in which to place the fresh Tupelo Nectar.  When Tupelo production is over this new crop must be removed before it can be mixed with additional honey sources.  The timing of this operation is critical since the Tupelo bloom is short, lasting as little as five days or less.  Like any other specialty honey, Tupelo Honey sells at a premium price. 

But like I mentioned before, my book doesn’t have anything to do with the actual product Tupelo Honey, the story was named after a song.  But now you have a little honey trivia in case you’re ever asked. 

Author Bio:

In-between softball, basketball, and music lessons, Tina Gallagher and her best friend would create their own “happily ever afters” for their favorite soap opera couples. After a while, the soap operas lost their appeal, but the writing never did. She continues to use her imagination to weave stories about heroes and heroines who share deep, lasting relationships and hot, steamy sex lives.  Visit Tina’s website to find out more about her available and upcoming work.  www.tina-gallagher.com

Blurb 

Cassie Evans never got over her high school sweetheart, Tim O’Brien.  She thought they had the perfect relationship and even when he received a professional hockey contract, she believed things would be okay…until she decided to surprise him one weekend on the road and got the surprise of her life.  She found him in his hotel room being serviced by a “puck bunny”.

Fifteen years later, Tim gets traded to his hometown team and has made it clear he still wants Cassie.   She tries to stay strong, but it’s hard to resist a hottie hockey player who has love on his mind, especially when she still has feelings for him.

This story is available at www.phaze.com

May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I knew the title of your book was brougt about because a song, but I didn’t know this about the bees or Tupelo Honey. Interesting.

    Wishing you mega sales with the book release. I’ve enjoyed reading your others.

    Comment by Autumn Jordon | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. Love the backstory, Tina!! Entering an author’s mind is like riding an amusement park ride…. you never know where the twists and turns are going to take you.

    Eileen

    Comment by Eileen Clymer Schwab | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. I knew about different honeys (The Secret Life of Bees), but not specifically Tupelo Honey. As a fan of Van Morrison’s music, of course I know the song!

    Best of luck with book sales, Tina!!

    Comment by pattie | May 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hey, Tina. I didn’t know anything about Tupelo trees (I thought it was a place) or Tupelo Honey, but the title has always conjured up visions of slow, sweet, southern days and equally slow, sweet lovemaking. Good luck with the new book! Are you on Kindle?

    Comment by Bart | May 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

